Member Login Menu

Phillip R. Hoffman Award

Nomination Deadline: November 1st


This award was officially instituted by action of the Board of Direction in October 1987 through the generosity of Nevenka Hoffman, widow of Phillip R. Hoffman.

Mr. Hoffman, who received the Rickey Medal in 1981, was associated with the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power for many years. He had special interest in the design and development of hydroelectric generation-pumped storage, the primary grid energy storage technology in use at the time.  Over the years grid energy storage technology and development has expanded to include not only hydroelectric pumped-storage, but also battery, fly-wheel, and compressed air energy storage among other technologies.   It is hoped that this memorial award will encourage others to concern themselves with the development and advancement of grid energy storage technologies..


I.    The award may be made annually to an engineer who has made a definite contribution to the field of grid energy storage development and  advancement (e.g. hydroelectric pumped-storage,battery, fly-wheel, compressed air). Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.  The contribution can be in the form of a published paper or performance in the field.

II.    The Executive Committee of the Energy Division shall recommend the recipient, or recipients in the case of a joint effort, to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for final action.

III.    The award shall consist of a plaque and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment.

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation (max)

You can submit your nomination electronically to Awards & Honors, or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

David E. Kleiner

Dale R. Murphy

ASCE Pumped Storage Task Committee for Pumped Storage Compendium

Henry H. Chen

Gabor M. Karadi

All Recipients