Member Login Menu

Forensic Engineering Award

Nomination Deadline: May 1st

Adopted by ExCom on October 23, 2011

The  Forensic Engineering Division Forensic Engineering Award, established in 1988, recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions at the national or international level to the discipline of forensic engineering. This is the highest honor bestowed by Forensic Engineering Division, and it is not necessarily awarded every year. It may be awarded posthumously. Recipients must be of high moral character and personal integrity. You do not need to be a member of ASCE to be eligible for this award. 



Nominations for this award cycle are due May 1, 2021

Examples of reasons for bestowing this award include:

  1. For leading an investigation of the highest quality for a high profile event
  2. For lifelong achievements in advancing the science or art of forensic engineering
  3. For significant contributions to the growth and stature of forensic engineering

Nominations will be considered by the Awards Committee, which consists of the three immediate past chairs of Forensic Engineering Division, and is chaired by the immediate past chair. In the event that a position becomes vacant, ExCom shall fill the position by appointment. The Committee will make its recommendation for the award to the ExCom, whose decision shall be final.

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation (max)

You can submit your nomination electronically to [email protected], or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Lloyd Martin Sonenthal, P.E., M.ASCE

Leonard J Morse-Fortier, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Joshua Ben Kardon, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

David B. Peraza, P.E., M.ASCE

Norbert Joseph Delatte, Jr, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

All Recipients