ASCE has honored Fabrizio Vestroni with the 2021 Theodore von Karman Medal for his stellar and unique career in academia and research, professional practice, and leadership in academic administration for the benefit of generations of civil engineers.

Vestroni’s academic and professional career spans 50 years. His research during these years has made a significant impact in the fields of structural mechanics, dynamics and nonlinear vibrations, engineering education, and mentoring of graduate and postgraduate students through institutional leadership positions and international organizational activities. He also influenced a generation of engineers and technicians through his critical contributions to the standard and codes while also promoting innovation in Italian institutions.

He received a summa cum laude Master of Science in Structural Engineering from the University of Rome La Sapienza in 1970, and began his academic career as a research assistant in the School of Engineering there. In 1977 he joined the University of L’Aquila, where he was appointed associate professor of structural dynamics in 1983 and full professor in 1986. He served as the coordinator of the Ph.D. program in structural engineering at Sapienza University as a full professor from 1988 to 2002. In 1994 he joined the university’s School of Engineering as a full professor and in 1998 was appointed head of the Department of Structural and Geotechnical Engineering for three running terms.

In 2007, he was elected dean of the faculty of engineering and served as dean until 2016. In 2003-2010, he was director of the International Master’s Program in Analysis and Control of Vibrations in Civil and Industrial Applications. In 2013 he was elected a member of the Instituto Lombardo, Accademia di Scienze e Lettere, Milano, Italy, and in 2015 he was elected a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, in Salzburg, Austria. In 2018, he was nominated Emeritus Professor by the Senate of Sapienza University.

The Theodore von Karman Medal is presented to an individual in recognition of distinguished achievements in engineering mechanics that are applicable to any branch of civil engineering.