ASCE has honored Subhasish Dey, Ph.D., M.ASCE, with the 2022 Hans Albert Einstein Award for his fundamental contribution to fluvial sediment transport, turbulence mechanism, local scour, and alluvial river dynamics from the perspectives of research, education, and practice.

Dey is an outstanding professor at Indian Institute of Technology who has contributed significantly in fluvial hydraulics and sediment transport research. His research covers the fundamentals of sediment transport in turbulent flow to hydrodynamic modeling of sediment transport in mobile bed streams, such as turbidity currents over plane bed using self-preserving velocity and concentration distributions. His research contributions include, but are not limited to, the scaling laws of sediment transport based on the phenomenology of turbulence, stochastic theory of sediment entrainment, turbulence laws in natural-bed flows, flow dynamics in gravel-bed streams, and advancement of the theory of self-preserving characteristics of turbulence flow in submerged wall-jets.

Dey has over 200 journal publications and over 6,500 citations with H index of 44 according to Google scholar. He has served in many leadership roles in national and international professional societies. He is both a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy and vice president of the World Association for Sedimentation and Erosion Research (2019-2022). He is also an associate editor for nine top-ranked journals, including Journal of Geophysical Research and ASCE’s Journal of Hydraulic Engineering. Dey’s contributions to sediment research, education, and service have shaped the modern hydraulic engineering field. He has been widely recognized as an international leader in sediment research.

The Hans Albert Einstein Award is given to a member who has made a significant contribution to the engineering profession in the area of erosion control, sedimentation, or waterway development either in teaching, research, planning, design, or management.