ASCE has honored the writing team of Chungwook Sim, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Maher K. Tadros, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; David Gee; and Micheal Asaad with the 2022 T.Y. Lin Award for the paper “Flexural Design of Precast, Prestressed Ultra-High-Performance Concrete Members,” PCI Journal, November/December 2020.

This paper proposes flexural design guidelines for precast, prestressed concrete members made with ultra-high-performance concrete mixtures developed by precasters. It shows that tensile properties are more important for structural optimization than cylinder strength and confirms the use of the traditional equivalent rectangular stress block in compression for prestressed concrete members. 

The paper includes a fully worked-out sample of a 250-foot (76.2 m) span decked I-beam of optimized shape and links to an original online spreadsheet workbook offered as a design tool.

The T.Y. Lin Award recognizes contributions to the field of prestressed concrete.