headshot of Marsia Geldert-Murphey

The ASCE 2022 election results are in, and Marsia Geldert-Murphey is the new ASCE president-elect-elect.

Active in ASCE for more than 30 years, Geldert-Murphey will assume the role of 2023 president-elect during the Society’s business meeting this October at the ASCE 2022 Convention in Anaheim, California.

“My vision of service as the leader of ASCE truly is in alignment with the Society’s purpose, vision, mission, and strategic goals,” said Geldert-Murphey in her nominee’s vision statement. “In fact, my vision is as easy as A-S-C-E: A – Advocacy, S – Service, C – Competence, E – Engagement. … I believe ASCE must focus not only on the value we bring to our members but also on the ease and simplicity with which that value is conveyed, received, navigated, and experienced.”

Geldert-Murphey, P.E., F.ASCE, works as the region director for Missouri and Illinois for the Lochmueller Group Inc., specializing in transportation and geotechnical engineering. She chairs ASCE’s Public Policy and Practice Committee, following a recent stint on ASCE’s Board of Direction as the Region 7 director, 2016-2019. Her Society leadership roles began as president of the St. Louis Section in 2006; then later as Region 7 governor, 2009-2013.

Complete ASCE 2022 election results:

Society 2023 President-Elect

Marsia Geldert-Murphey, P.E., F.ASCE

Technical Region Director

Karen C. Kabbes, P.E., ENV SP, D.WRE, F.ASCE

Region 1 Governors

Shahin Ariaey-Nejad, P.E., M.ASCE

Brad Summerville, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 2 Director

Carol C. Martsolf, P.E., PMP, LEED AP, F.ASCE

Region 2 Governors

John Caperilla, EIT, A.M.ASCE

John J. Segna, P.E., BCEE, F.ASCE

Region 3 Governors

John C. Lazzara, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Michael D. Pniewski, P.E., P.S., F.ASCE

Region 4 Governors

Kevin Krick, P.E., LEED AP, F.ASCE

David F. Meadows, P.E., P.S., F.ASCE

Jennifer L. Sharkey, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5 Governors

Chris Rader, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Rebecca Shelton, P.E., F.ASCE

Region 6 Director

Sean P. Merrell, P.E., PTOE, F.ASCE

Region 7 Director

Erin M. Steever, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 7 Governors

Jenifer J. Bates, P.E., M.ASCE

Elizabeth Staten, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8 Governors

J. Darren Burton, P.E., M.ASCE

Bernadette “Bernie” Sison, C.ENG, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9 Governors

Susan E. Hida, P.E., M.ASCE

Rune Storesund, D.ENG., P.E., G.E., F.ASCE

Region 10 Director

April J. Lander, MEM, JP, ENV SP, A.M.ASCE

Region 10 Governor

To be determined 

Learn more about the election.