Zhihao Kong, S.M.ASCE, and Na Lu, Ph.D., M.ASCE, both of Purdue University, have been honored with the 2022 Alfred Noble Prize for their paper “Improved Method to Determine Young’s Modulus for Concrete Cylinder Using Electromechanical Spectrum: Principal and Validation,” Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Nov. 2020.

The authors present a new methodology using electromechanical impendence resistance. This procedure has been pilot-tested by INDOT and recognized by ASCE as a 2021 Infrastructure Game Changer. It is indeed a game changer.

Kong is a graduate student in civil engineering. His research interest is developing an NDT method for civil material characterization. He holds both master of science and bachelor of science degrees in civil engineering from South China University of Technology, China.

Lu, an associate professor of civil engineering, was recently named the ACPA Scholar in Concrete Pavement and Materials Science by the Indiana Chapter of the American Concrete Pavement Association. The ACPA Scholar designation recognizes an outstanding faculty member in the School of Civil Engineering.

The Alfred Noble Prize was established in 1929 in honor of Alfred Noble, former president of the American Society of Civil Engineers and of the Western Society of Engineers, and recognizes younger authors for a technical paper of exceptional merit accepted by the Committee on Publications or a committee of like standing, for publication in any of their technical publications. Papers prepared by not more than two authors are eligible for consideration.

The Alfred Noble Prize Committee invites submission of papers for the 2023 award. Requirements follow:

  • Authors must be members of ASCE, AIME, ASME, IEEE, or Western Society of Engineers.
  • Favors younger authors; the author or lead author for two-author papers is not older than 35 years of age at the time the paper was published in print by the nominating society.
  • Not more than two authors.
  • Papers are eligible if they were published in the 24-month period ending with June of the year preceding the year of award. For the 2023 award cycle, the publication window is May 2020–June 2022.

For more information, email [email protected].