The National Academy of Engineering has elected 106 new members and 18 international members. There are four ASCE members among the new class.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” Founded in 1964, the NAE currently has 2,420 peer-elected members.

The new class will be formally inducted during the NAE’s annual meeting on Oct. 1.

ASCE members among the NAE class of 2023:

Christine Mary Keville,NAE , A.M.ASCE, president and CEO, Keville Enterprises Inc., Marshfield, Massachusetts; for promoting diversity in the engineering profession through business success, mentoring students and businesses, and leadership of national professional societies.

Eva Lerner-Lam, NAE, M.ASCE, founder and president, Palisades Consulting Group Inc., Tenafly, New Jersey; for accelerating adoption of intelligent transportation systems and smart city codes and standards in engineering practice.

Kenichi Soga, NAE, F.ASCE, Donald H. McLaughlin Chair in Mineral Engineering and Chancellor’s Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of California, Berkeley; for advances in geomechanics and computational modeling, as well as simulation and monitoring of underground infrastructure.

Paul K. Westerhoff, P.E., NAE, M.ASCE, Regents Professor and Fulton Chair of Environmental Engineering, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona State University; for leadership and pioneering research on emerging contaminants assessment and water purification technologies.

View the entire class of 2023 NAE inductees.