The ASCE President’s Medal was established by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction in April 1986.

Recent winners

  • 2024: Joel G. Burken, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE and Eva Lerner-Lam, NAE, M.ASCE

View all winners


  1. The award may be presented annually to not more than 2 individuals per year.
  2. The award recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of eminent engineers to the profession, the Society or the public. Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.
  3. The award shall be conferred at the initiative of the President with the concurrence of the Executive Committee, who may consider recommendations from any source.
  4. The award consists of a bronze medal depicting the ASCE emblem, obverse, and appropriate engraving, reverse, identifying the award and the recipient(s).
  5. The award shall be presented at the time of the Annual Convention or at other suitable occasions at the option of the President.


To nominate, submit the following:

You can submit your nomination electronically to [email protected], or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191