Tuncer B. Edil has been an active researcher and educator for nearly 35 years at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Professor Edil is currently serving as Research Director of the new Recycled Materials Resource Center sponsored by FHWA. He has undertaken several projects relating to highway construction and has been actively involved in the use of recycled materials. In the 1980s, he was one of the first investigators to study the use of fly ash in generating hydraulic barriers. His research involving coal combustion byproducts has expanded significantly in recent years involving different applications in highway construction such as stabilization of poor subgrade and stabilization of recycled pavement materials and road-surface gravel to form base for flexible pavements. Dr. Edil has also investigated the use of granular industrial by products in highway subbase or fill construction such as bottom ash, foundry slag, and recycled asphalt shingles. He has also undertaken extensive research on foundry sands involving numerous applications such as geosynthetic- reinforced backfill, flowable fill, and subbase materials. In the 1990s he started research on the use of shredded tires as light weight fill materials alone or in mixtures with soils.

Prof. Edil serves on the Technical Oversight Committee for Geotechnical Research at WisDOT. He is a member of TRB Committees AFP30 and AFS70. He is also a core member of TC-3 Geotechnics of Pavements technical Committee of the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering. He was appointed as founding Chair of newly formed ASTM Subcommittee D18.14 on Geotechnics of Sustainable Construction. Dr. Edil is a former Editor-in-Chief of ASCE’s Journal of Geotechnical Engineering and current Editor-in-Chief of Geotechnical and Geological Engineering journal. He is the recipient of numerous personal and team/project awards from ASCE, ASTM, and other organizations. He is the holder of the 2007 Special Science Award from the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey.