Nomination Deadline: February 1st

The Collingwood Prize was instituted and endowed in 1894 by Francis Collingwood, past Secretary of ASCE. It is administered by the Committee on Younger Members through the Honors and Awards Program.

Recent winners

  • 2024: Sneha Upadhyaya, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Russell A. Green, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE; Adrian Rodriguez-Marek, Ph.D., M.ASCE; and Brett W. Maurer,  Ph.D.

Read the 2024 award winning paper

View all winners


  1. Nomination for the prize is restricted to Affiliate Members, Associate Members, and Members of the Society who are ASCE members in good standing at the time of nomination and were 35 years of age or less at the time the paper was submitted in its final form.
  2. The prize may be awarded annually to the author or authors of a paper (1) describing an engineering work with which the author(s) have been directly connected, or (2) recording investigations contributing to engineering knowledge to which the author(s) have contributed some essential part, and (3) containing a rational digest of results. Any mathematical treatment must show immediate adaptability to professional practice. Accuracy of language and excellence of style are factors in the award. The Committee on Younger Members shall recommend a winner to the ASCE Executive Committee for final action.
  3. Papers published in a print issue of an ASCE journal during the 12 month period ending with June 30 of the year preceding the year of award are eligible. Individual technical papers produced as an appendix to a report of an ASCE committee and published during the 12 month period ending with June 30 of the year preceding the year of the award are also eligible.
  4. Active members of CYM or its active Corresponding Members shall not be eligible for the award.


To nominate, submit the following in a single PDF to Younger Member Programs: