Nomination Deadline: November 1st

The Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) established a new award in 2011, The EMI Leonardo Da Vinci Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding young investigators early in their careers for promising ground-breaking developments in the field of Engineering Mechanics and Mechanical Sciences as relevant to Civil Engineering, understood in the broadest sense.

Recent winners

  • 2024: Xiaojia Shelly Zhang, Ph.D. A.M.ASCE

View all winners


  1. The award is given every year to a young investigator,
  2. Generally under 35 years of age or have worked no more than 7 years since receiving their doctoral degree, and
  3. Whose contributions have the promise to define new directions in theory and application of Engineering Mechanics, in the vein of Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519), a man of unquenchable curiosity and feverishly inventive imagination.

Leonardo da Vinci, in his work related to mechanics, conceptualized many later developments in solid and fluid mechanics, like the bending of beams or the partitioning of energy into potential and kinetic components which is now known as the Bernoulli Theorem in Fluid Mechanics.


The nomination shall consist of:

  1. A cover letter, signed by the nominator.
  2. A completed Official EMI Award Nomination form (PDF).
  3. 3 letters of recommendation (submittal of more than 3 letters of recommendation will automatically disqualify the nomination).
  4. The nominee's CV.
  5. A 1-page research statement of the Nominee.
  6. 3 publications in peer-reviewed journals, which either have been published or have been accepted for publication.

Nominees not selected in a given year will be held over for consideration through the next selection cycle. At the end of the second cycle, nominees not chosen will no longer be eligible for consideration, except that nominators who wish for their candidate to be considered for another two-cycle period must produce a new nomination package.

The award will be given without regard for Society membership or nationality. No individual shall receive the award more than once. The deadline for nomination is November 1 of each year. The award consists of a plaque and will be presented during the EMI annual conference.

Nominations should be submitted to Verna Jameson, EMI Director or mailed to:

Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191
Attn: Verna Jameson

Download nomination form (PDF)