Civil Engineering Department Heads and Chairs are critical leaders for all Civil Engineering programs across the nation. They serve to advance, facilitate, and communicate educational and research matters among all Civil Engineering Departments, the profession, and the Society.

Join the Collaborate Community of Department Heads and Chairs and feel free to post questions and view discussions with our colleagues.

2024 National CE Department Heads Conference

June 3–5, 2024 | University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Pre-conference session begins: 9:00 AM, Monday, June 3
Conference begins: 12:30 PM, Monday, June 3
Conference ends: 12:00 PM, Wednesday, June 5

Hosted by the ASCE Department Heads Coordinating Council (DHCC)
DHCC Chair, Allison MacKay, Ohio State University

Registration fee

ASCE members / institute members | $350
Non-ASCE members / non-institute members | $400

Closest airport

McGhee Tyson Airport (TYS)
Please refer to the airport's transportation page for information on connections to & from our nearby airport.

Additional resources from conference host

University of Tennessee, Knoxville Additional Conference Resources


For more information, contact Dion Coward, Educational Activities Senior Manager


Previous NCEDHC hosts / locations

  • 2023 - Iowa State University (Ames, IA)
  • 2022 - Portland State University (Portland, OR)
  • 2019 ‐ Southern Methodist University (Dallas, TX)
  • 2018 ‐ Drexel University (Philadelphia, PA)
  • 2017 ‐ Brigham Young University (Salt Lake City, UT)
  • 2016 ‐ University of Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR)
  • 2015 ‐ Virginia Tech (Blacksburg, VA)
  • 2014 ‐ University of Oklahoma (Norman, OK)
  • 2013 ‐ University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Las Vegas, NV)
  • 2012 ‐ Crown Plaza White Plains hosted by Manhattan College and Columbia University (White Plains, NY)
  • 2011 ‐ University of Wisconsin ‐ Madison (Madison, WI)
  • 2010 ‐ Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, PA)
  • 2009 ‐ The Nines Hotel hosted by Portland State University (Portland, OR)
  • 2008 ‐ Omni Hotel hosted by University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC)
  • 2007 ‐ Marriott Fort Collins hosted by Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO)
  • 2006 ‐ San Luis Resort (Galveston, TX)