Member Login Menu

OPAL Awards Gala

  • OPAL Awards Gala

    March 13, 2020
    Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
    Washington, DC

    Reception starts at 6:00 p.m.

  • Congratulations 2020 Honorees!

  • Nominations & Gala Information

    Jane Moran Alspach
    Phone: (800) 548-ASCE (2723)  ext. 6382 or +1 (703) 295-6382


    Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
    400 New Jersey Ave NW
    Washington, DC 20001


    6:00 - 7:00 p.m. | Reception
    7:00 - 9:45 p.m. | Dinner & Awards Ceremony
    9:45 - 11:00 p.m. | Afterglow Reception

    OPAL Gala Dress Code

    The Dress Code for the Evening is Black-Tie Optional.


    Valet Parking

    • 0‒2 hours: $33
    • 2‒10 hours: $46
    • 10‒24 hours: $62


    Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport - DCA
    Approximately 5 miles from venue.


    Union Station, Washington, DC
    Approximately 0.6 mile from venue.

    DC Metro Station

    Red Line, Union Station
    Approximately 0.4 mile from venue.

  • 2020 Honorees

    OCEA Honor Awards

    These ten projects were selected for excellence. On March 13, 2020, two runners-up and the OCEA winner will be chosen from among the Honor Awards.

    • Alaskan Way Viaduct Replacement Program, Seattle, WA
    • Bayonne Bridge: Replacement of Main Span Roadway and Approach Structures, Bayonne, NJ – Staten Island, NY
    • Marc Basnight Bridge, Outer Banks, NC
    • Olmsted Locks and Dam, Olmsted, IL
    • Queensferry Crossing, Edinburgh & Fife, Scotland
    • Salesforce Tower, San Francisco, CA
    • Spillways, Oroville Emergency Recovery, Oroville, CA
    • The Big Lift - Macdonald Bridge Superstructure Replacement, Halifax, Nova Scotia
    • West Vancouver Freight Access, Vancouver, WA
    • Zoo Interchange Core and Adjacent Arterials, Milwaukee, WI


    These five civil engineers were selected for excellence in the areas of Construction, Design, Education, Government and Management.

    • Ted E. Craddock, P.E., M.ASCE
    • Ronald M. Noble, P.E., L.S., D.CE, D.PE, D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE
    • Raymond J. Krizek, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Hon.M.ASCE, NAE
    • James Starace, P.E., M.ASCE
    • Sergio A. Pecori, P.E., F.ASCE

    Charles Pankow Award for Innovation

    The 2020 award is presented to the first commercially available brick-laying robot for on-site masonry construction.

    • SAM100 Construction Robotics, Victor, NY

    Henry L. Michel Award for Innovation in Research

    This annually presented award recognizes professionals for their research in the design and construction industry.

    • Kent S. Sorenson, Jr., Ph.D., P.E.
  • Sponsorship Opportunities

    To reserve your sponsorship preference, or for more information, please contact:
    Sean Scully
    Phone: (703) 295-6154

    OPAL Sponsorship Prospectus & Commitment Form (PDF)

    OPAL Ambassadors

    • Patrick J. Natale, P.E., Dist.M.ASCE
    • Anthony S. Bartolomeo, P.E., M.ASCE
    • Glenn R. Bell, C.Eng, P.E., F.SEI, F.ASCE
    • Dr. Paul F. Boulos, Ph.D., NAE, Hon.D.WRE, Dist.D.NE, Dist.M.ASCE
    • Jon D. Magnusson, P.E., S.E., F.SEI, Dist.M.ASCE
    • Gunalan N. Kancheepuram, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE
    • Thomas W. Smith III, ENV.SP., CAE, F.ASCE
    • Terry Neimeyer, P.E., BCEE, M.ASCE, FACEC
  • Past Winners

    These individuals crafted engineering wonders that have contributed to the creation of thriving businesses and the local economies of the communities they serve. Lifetime recipients represent a model of achievement to which future generations of engineers aspire to match or exceed.

    View 2019 OPAL winners

  • OPAL Sponsors