Member Login Menu

Outstanding Projects And Leaders Awards

Nomination Deadline: July 24th

Due to the pandemic, the entry deadline for this award has been extended to

The OPAL awards honor outstanding civil engineering leaders whose lifetime accomplishments contributed in one of five categories.

Construction - for innovation and excellence in construction of civil engineering project and/or programs.

Candidates in this category are senior level professionals whose primary responsibility is to oversee significant construction projects.

Design - for innovation and excellence in civil engineering design.

Nominees in Design are practitioners who are directly charged with hands-on design projects.

Education - for demonstrated excellence in furthering civil engineering education.

Candidates in the Education category are professors and deans whose careers are marked by achievements that direct or change the course of engineering education.

Government - for demonstrated leadership of public sector projects and/or programs.

Those chosen for honor in this category are civil engineers at work on public service construction projects or those who direct and oversee large government projects.

Management - for exceptional management skills in his/her professional career.

Nominees in this category are senior managers of an engineering organization, whose primary responsibility is to oversee and direct operations. 

The 2020 OPAL Award Winners

  • Ted E. Craddock, P.E., M.ASCE - Construction - Assistant Deputy Director, California Dept of Water Resources, Sacramento, CA
  • Ronald M. Noble, P.E., L.S., D.CE, D.PE, D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE - Design - President & Senior Principal Engineer, Noble Consultants - G.E.C., Inc., Novato, CA
  • Raymond J. Krizek, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Hon.M.ASCE, NAE - Education - Professor, Director, Master of Project Management Program & Executive Management for Design and Construction Program, Northwestern University, Evanston, Il
  • James Starace, P.E., M.ASCE - Government - Chief Engineer, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
  • Sergio A. Pecori, P.E., F.ASCE - Management - Chair & Chief Executive Officer, Hanson Professional Services, Inc., Springfield, IL

These individuals crafted engineering wonders that have contributed to the creation of thriving businesses and the local economies of the communities they serve. Lifetime recipients represent a model of achievement to which future generations of engineers aspire to match or exceed. 

Each Outstanding Projects and Leaders (OPAL) award recipient will receive a trophy at a gala banquet in the spring.

Learn More & Attend


  1. The awards are given to model civil engineers who have demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievement, leadership and a long-term commitment to excellence. The awards are not restricted to members of the Society.
  2. In that the election of ASCE Presidency is the highest office accorded, Past Presidents are not eligible for OPAL awards.
  3. As many as five awards (one for each category) are made annually. The awards will be bestowed based on the lifetime accomplishments and achievements of the recipients. A person can only receive one OPAL in their lifetime.
  4. Names of candidates considered by the Society Awards Committee but not nominated for election will be reconsidered the following year. Individuals must be renominated after three years. 

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • A completed OPAL Nomination form, signed by the nominator
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Letters of reference

You can submit your nomination electronically to, or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Download OPAL Nomination form

Award Recipients

2019 Construction
Lt.Gen. Todd Semonite, P.E., M.ASCE

2019 Design
Ronald Klemencic, P.E., S.E., F.EMI, F.ASCE

2019 Education
Ross B. Corotis, Ph.D., P;.E., S.E., F.EMI, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE

2019 Government
Paul D. Kovacs, P.E., M.ASCE

2019 Management
Ewa Z. Bauer-Furbush, P.E., M.ASCE, NAC

All Recipients