Nomination Deadline: October 1st

The Pioneers in Groundwater Award recognizes and honors an individual with pioneering contributions in the teaching, research, and/or practice of groundwater science and engineering. Only 1 award is given per year. Membership of ASCE or EWRI is not required.

The awards prize is a monetary award and certificate.

Your help is needed to keep cutting edge groundwater science in the forefront for civil engineers. Learn how you can help support the EWRI Pioneers in Groundwater Award.

Recent winner

  • 2017: Michael Markus,P.E, F.ASCE,D.WRE

View all winners


  1. The award recipient presents the plenary lecture at the Groundwater Council Awards function or Groundwater Symposium during the EWRI World Environmental and Water Resources Congress. In addition, the award recipient is encouraged to participate in the annual Groundwater Symposium.
  2. Objectives of the plenary lecture are to increase the visibility of the Groundwater Symposia and Groundwater Council and to encourage participation in EWRI and Groundwater Council activities and committees.


The Groundwater Council and its Groundwater Symposia Committee, Continuing Education Committee, and Groundwater Council Awards Subcommittee will work together to administer the Pioneers in Groundwater Award. The Groundwater Council will process the award through the EWRI Awards Committee, complying with the normal award guidelines.

EWRI Awards

Nominations for many awards are due October 1. Always review individual award rules for full details on how to nominate a deserving candidate.

View all EWRI awards