Skip to main content

ASCE's Switzerland group started in 2015 and has just under 70 members.


ASCE–Swiss Prize

In support of innovative research in the domain of Civil Engineering, the ASCE Switzerland International Group has established the ASCE-Swiss Prize in recognition of exceptional Master theses, which combine scientific advances with application areas of practical relevance in the domain of Civil Engineering. This is a Swiss-wide award, awarded annually to a single winner from a pool of candidates across all Swiss Institutions that offer an MSc degree in Civil Engineering.

We are pleased to announce the award of the 2021 ASCE–Swiss prize to Mr. Gabriel Rodriguez (ETHZ Zürich), for his MSc thesis entitled "Decision Support System for an Intelligent Operator of Utility Tunnel Boring Machines". The thesis was carried out under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Olga Fink and Dr. Gabriel Michau of the Chair of Intelligent Maintenance Systems at ETH Zürich.

We wish to particularly thank our cross-institutional review committee:

  • Prof. Alexandre Alahi (EPFL)
  • Dr. Elyas Ghafoori (Empa, member ASCE)
  • Prof. David Kammer (ETH Zürich, member ASCE)

Previous awardees:


Mr. Maximilian Kastinger, "Run-up of Impulse Wave Trains", supervised by Prof. Dr. Robert Boes, Dr. Frederic Evers (VAW/DBAUG, ETH Zürich)

For ASCE-Swiss Prize details, please refer to the past Call for Applications and to Instructions & Conditions.


  • Eleni Chatzi, Ph.D., M.ASCE
  • Nikolas Geroliminis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
    Vice President
  • Dimitrios Lignos, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
  • Daniel Hall, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE