Portrait of Scott Murrell

Scott Murrell, P.E., M.ASCE has been elected for the 4-year position on the Board of Governors of Transportation & Development Institute (T&DI) of ASCE. His term will commence October 1, 2022. With his election, he will be on track to serve as T&DI’s President for FY25.

About Scott Murrell

Scott Murrell started his professional career with the Port Authority in 1982 as a Civil Design Engineer, rising through the ranks to become the Chief Civil Engineer in 2005. As the Chief Civil Engineer, Mr. Murrell was responsible for overseeing more than $1 billion of transportation infrastructure projects, including a $300 million runway reconstruction at John F. Kennedy International Airport along with numerous roads, bridge, tunnel, and port facility projects. In 2015 he joined Applied Research Associates (ARA) as Director Commercial Aviation Services. Since joining ARA, Mr. Murrell has been the technical lead for support of the FAA’s Airport Technology Research focusing on airport pavements, and airport consulting projects.

Mr. Murrell is a registered Professional Engineer in the states of New York and New Jersey and a recognized authority in transportation engineering. He has won numerous professional awards, including the 2014 American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Robert Horonjeff Award for the Advancement of Air Transportation Engineering and 2010 ASCE Civil Engineer of the Year (New Jersey Section). He has participated in several professional organizations, including TRB, AASHTO ACRP, ASCE, and FAA committees, boards, and panels.

Scott is a charter member of T&DI and has served in a variety of roles including Airfield Pavement Committee Chair, Council Chair, and two-year appointed board member. He was co-chair of the First T&DI Congress, which later became the ASCE International Conference on Transportation & Development. Scott is a familiar face at Airfield and Highway Pavement Specialty Conferences having served as co-chair and steering committee member from 2006 through 2020. He also continues to be an active member of the Airfield Pavement Committee.