The ASCE/SEI Nuclear Standards Committee is seeking new members to oversee the development of the next editions of 3 standards:

  • ASCE/SEI 1 Standard for Geotechnical Analysis, Design, Construction, Inspection and Monitoring of Nuclear Safety-Related Structures
  • ASCE/SEI 4 Seismic Analysis of Safety-Related Nuclear Structures
  • ASCE/SEI 43 Seismic Design Criteria for Structures, Systems, and Components in Nuclear Facilities

The chair for this next cycle is Andrew Whittaker, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., F.ASCE, F.SEI, F.ACI, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, University at Buffalo.

Practicing engineers, researchers, building officials, contractors and construction product representatives are all needed and welcome. If you are interested to apply for the committee, please submit an application by Dec. 1, 2021, via the online form by selecting “SEI” from Institute drop down and then “Nuclear Standards (ASCE/SEI 1, 4, 43)”. Carefully indicate the Membership Category for which you are applying. Associate members can be accepted until balloting begins. Eligible regulatory members can qualify for travel reimbursement per ASCE Travel Policy if that occurs. Contact Jennifer Goupil with questions at [email protected] or +1-571-421-3998.