The Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction approved the list of recipients of several prestigious 2023 Society awards administered by the Engineering Mechanics Institute. Many of these awards will be presented on June 8th, during the EMI 2023 Conference.

Congratulations to all the award recipients!


Jack E. Cermak Medal

Held jointly with the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE
Partha Sarkar

Partha P. Sarkar, Ph.D., F.SEI, F.ASCE
, for his pioneering contributions to wind engineering by developing tornado and downburst wind tunnels and acquiring responses of flexible structures such as long-span bridges, tall-mast light poles and street traffic signal structures.


EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award

Evgueni FilipovEvgueni T. Filipov, Ph.D., M.ASCE, for outstanding contributions to the field of origami-inspired deployable and reconfigurable structures including: establishing new simulation tools, creating stiff lightweight origami, developing functional origami structures at multiple scales, and leading in service and education that broaden the field.

George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal

Nicos Makris
Nicos Makris, Ph.D., C.Eng, F.ASCE
, for his contributions to passive and semi-active structural control from supplemental energy dissipation and rocking isolation to pioneering development of electrorheological dampers and health monitoring and condition assessment of fluid dampers.

Robert H. Scanlan Medal

Hui Li

Hui Li, Ph.D., Aff.M.ASCE
, for contributions to advancing bridge aerodynamics and application of machine learning tools and CFD to the wind engineering field.


Masanobu Shinozuka Medal

Ross Corotis

Ross B. Corotis, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., NAE, Dist. M.ASCE,
for his leadership and visionary research in the development and practical application of structural reliability theory.



Theodore von Karman Medal

Firdaus UdwadiaFirdaus E. Udwadia, Ph.D., M.ASCE, for extraordinary, original, and seminal research contributions to civil, mechanical, and aerospace engineering, through far-reaching advances in engineering mechanics related to earthquake engineering, structural dynamics, structural control, analytical dynamics, and structural stability.

2022 Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention

Haijian Gao

Huajian Gao, Ph.D., Aff.M.ASCE,
for his contributions to fracture mechanics and failure prevention in nanostructured materials, including metals, metamaterials and battery electrodes.


Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize

\Steve Sun

Steve WaiChing Sun, Ph.D., M.ASCE
, for his fundamental contributions to computational and data-driven poromechanics.