The Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction approved the list of recipients of several prestigious 2024 Society awards administered by the Engineering Mechanics Institute. Many of these awards will be presented on May 30th during the EMI/PMC 2024 Conference.

Congratulations to all the award recipients!

Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention

Vikram SDeshpande

Vikram S. Deshpande, Ph.D.

"for his pioneering contributions to damage and failure prevention of metal alloys, lattice-cored sandwich structures, and micro-architected materials across length scales."

EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award

Shelley Zhang
Xiaojia Shelly Zhang, Ph.D. A.M.ASCE, M. EMI

"for important contributions to novel multi-physics topology optimization methods and fabrication strategies for highly multi-functional structures with programmable behaviors, and for translating practice."

Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal

George Deodatis, Ph.D., F.EMI, Dist.M.ASCE

"for excellence in developing probabilistic methods in civil engineering and engineering mechanics, emphasizing simulation of stochastic processes and fields to model loads and system properties, and on quantifying the effect of input and system uncertainties on the random system response."

George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal

Jerome Lynch
Jerome P. Lynch, Ph.D., F.EMI, M.ASCE

"for advances in wireless sensing and information systems for intelligent infrastructure including wireless sensor networks, distributed computing, and cyber-physical systems to perform structural health assessment with applications to real-world civil engineered structures."

Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes

Huber-Ioannis K
Ioannis Kougioumtzoglou, Ph.D., C.Eng, M.ASCE

"for seminal contributions to the field of stochastic engineering dynamics, and for pioneering Wiener path integral methods for determining the response of diverse nonlinear systems/structures subjected to a variety of stochastic excitations."

Haeyoung Noh

Hae Young Noh, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

"for the structures as sensors concept to enable user- and environment-aware physical structures via analysis of structural vibrations. This paradigm shift in sensing facilitates easy-to-deploy platforms that learn from the analysis of what would otherwise be noise."



Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

JS Chen
Jiun-Shyan (J.S.) Chen, Ph.D., F.EMI, M.ASCE

"seminal contributions to the development of advanced finite element and meshfree methods and their applications to a wide range of applied mechanics problems and solids and structures under extreme conditions."

Robert H. Scanlan Medal

X Chen
Xinzhong Chen, D.Eng, M.ASCE

"for advancing the field of aerodynamics of buildings and bridges through development of analysis, modeling, and simulation approaches."

Theodore von Karman Medal

George Voyiadjis
George Z. Voyiadjis, D.Eng., F.EMI, Dist.M.ASCE

"for outstanding achievements in macro/micro-material characterization of damage and plasticity in solid mechanics, pioneering contributions in multi-scale modeling and localization problems, and national and international leadership and service to solid mechanics."