The Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE, is pleased to announce the winners of several 2021 prestigious mechanics awards.

Maurice A. Biot Medal

Stein Sture, Ph.D., Hon.D.GE, F.EMI, Dist.M.ASCE, University of Colorado at Boulder, has been selected for "his contributions to experimental, theoretical and computational mechanics for advancing the understanding of mechanical behavior of geologic and particulate media under general stress state including failure."

Jack E. Cermak Medal

Held jointly with the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE

Gregory A. Kopp, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, Western University, Ontario, has been selected for "his many contributions in wind engineering through research and development of wind load standards of buildings and the NIST aerodynamic database."

George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal

Hui Li, Ph.D., Harbin Institute of Technology, for "pioneering research in the development and implementation of structural monitoring and control systems in large-scale structures, as well as for her commitment to developing innovative education programs for students."

Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

Marco Amabili, Ph.D., P.Eng., M.ASCE, McGill University, has been selected for "outstanding research contributions to applied solid mechanics, with special emphasis on theoretical, numerical and experimental studies on nonlinear mechanics and large-amplitude vibrations of shells and plates."

Theodore von Karman Medal

Fabrizio Vestroni, Sapienza University of Rome, has been selected for "the stellar and unique career in academy and research, professional practice and leadership in academic administration for the benefit of generations of civil engineers."

Norman Medal

For the paper, "Unified Effective Stress Equation for Soil," published in the Journal of Engineering Mechanics, February 2020.

Ning Lu, Ph.D., F.EMI, F.ASCE, Colorado School of Mines

Chao Zhang, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Hunan University

Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize

Alexandros A. Taflanidis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, University of Notre Dame, has been selected for "enhancing the resilience of communities to natural hazards such as hurricanes and earthquakes through decision-support tools and comprehensive risk assessment frameworks that leverage the integration of advanced statistical computing and machine learning methods."

Ning Lin, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Princeton University, has been selected for "research that has led o significant advances in understanding risks associated with hurricanes and their impact on coastal infrastructure."

EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award

Ange-Therese Akono, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Northwestern University, has been selected for "discovering novel methods to probe the fracture toughness at the nanoscale, for outstanding discoveries at the intersection of Fracture Mechanics and Nanotechnology, and for inspiring a new generation of nanoscientists and Fracture Mechanics experts."